The Iceland Camping Card, and whether it pays
All 30 campsites that accept Útilegukortið in 2026, named and linked — with each one's published season and rate, and the break-even worked out from what those campsites actually charge.
The Camping Card costs 24,900 ISK for the 2026 season and is accepted at 30campsites — not the “over 40” you will read elsewhere. One card covers two adults and up to four children under 16 for up to 28 nights and expires on 15 September. At the median rate those 8 of the 30 sites that publish one charge — 2,000 ISK per adult per night — two adults break even on night 7. 30 sites out of 315 campsites in the country is about one in ten, so the question is not whether the card is good value. It is whether your route happens to run through the list below.
What is it doing at Laugarvatn right now?
At the Laugarvatn campsite it is 8°C, feels like 5°C, with wind of 3 m/s gusting to 6 m/s and clear. Daylight today runs 05:59–20:48 (14 h 48 m). Laugarvatn is the participating site most people drive past, which is why the reading is taken here. Of the 30 card sites, 21 are open today (31 August 2026) according to their own published seasons.
Data verified 31 August 2026, 23:00 · source: Open-Meteo, at the campsite’s own coordinates · refreshes every 10 minutes
| Adults | Cost per night | Break-even | Verdict |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 2,000 ISK | 13 nights | Only on a long trip staying almost entirely at card sites |
| 2 | 4,000 ISK | 7 nights | Realistic on a two-week lap of the country |
| 3 | 6,000 ISK | 5 nights | Pays quickly |
| 4 | 8,000 ISK | 4 nights | Pays quickly |
The rate above is the median of the 8 participating campsites that publish a current-season adult rate on tjalda.is. The other 22 publish none, so we are not going to pretend to a country-wide average — the sum above is the one you can check, site by site, in the table below.
What the card does not cover. The pitch, and that is it. Showers, electricity and laundry are charged as usual, and the lodging tax — 400 ISK per unit per night at the sites that publish it — is due whether you hold a card or not. It appears on neither side of the break-even sum for exactly that reason. Two adults in one campervan paying the tax on 10 nights owe 4,000 ISK with or without the card.
The shape of the trip matters more than the arithmetic. There is no participating campsite in Reykjavík and none in the highlands, and the roster leans north and west — Vesturland 4, Vestfirðir 6, Norðurland 9, Austurland 4, Suðurland 7. A week on the South Coast and the Golden Circle passes 7 of them. A three-week lap of the Ring Road with a Westfjords detour passes most of the list.
| Campsite | Area | Our region | Published season | Today | ISK/night |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Akranes | Vesturland | west-iceland | 1.May-30.September | Open | — |
| Grundarfjörður | Vesturland | west-iceland | Open all year | Open | — |
| Búðardalur (listed as Tjaldsvæðið Búðardal) | Vesturland | west-iceland | None published | Not stated | 2,000 |
| Hlaðir, Hvalfjarðarströnd (listed as Tjaldsvæðið að Hlöðum) | Vesturland | west-iceland | 23 May – 31 August. | Open | 1,100 |
| Bolungarvík | Vestfirðir | westfjords | 15th of May - 15th of September | Open | — |
| Drangsnes | Vestfirðir | north-iceland | 15. May - 1. December | Open | — |
| Tjaldstæðið á Reykhólum (listed as Grettislaug á Reykhólum) | Vestfirðir | west-iceland | None published | Not stated | — |
| Patreksfjörður | Vestfirðir | westfjords | Opens May 15th and closes September 15th. | Open | — |
| Tálknafjörður | Vestfirðir | westfjords | 1. maí og lokar 15. október. | Open | — |
| Tungudalur, Ísafirði (listed as Tungudalur) | Vestfirðir | westfjords | Open from 15th May to 30th September | Open | — |
| Bakkafjörður | Norðurland | east-iceland | 1.May-.1.October | Open | — |
| Húsavík | Norðurland | north-iceland | Open May 15 - September 30 | Open | — |
| Kópasker | Norðurland | north-iceland | None published | Not stated | 2,000 |
| Möðrudalur á Fjöllum – Fjalladýrð (listed as Möðrudalur – Fjalladýrð) | Norðurland | north-iceland | 1. Júní - 15. September | Open | — |
| Ólafsfjörður | Norðurland | north-iceland | Open from May 15 to October 15. | Open | 1,800 |
| Siglufjörður | Norðurland | north-iceland | Open from May 15 to October 15, weather permitting. | Open | — |
| Skagaströnd | Norðurland | north-iceland | 1. maí – 15. september | Open | — |
| Kiðagil í Bárðadal (listed as Tjaldsvæði Kiðagils) | Norðurland | north-iceland | Open until September, weather dependent. | Not stated | 2,000 |
| Tjaldsvæðið á Þórshöfn (listed as Þórshöfn) | Norðurland | north-iceland | 15 May - 15 September | Open | 2,000 |
| Seyðisfjörður | Austurland | east-iceland | 1.April-31.Ocotber | Not stated | — |
| Stuðlagil Canyon Camping (listed as Stuðlagil Canyon) | Austurland | north-iceland | Campsite is open between May and October. Closed over wintertime. | Open | — |
| Svartiskógur | Austurland | east-iceland | None published | Not stated | 2,000 |
| Bragðavellir (listed as Tjaldsvæðið Bragðavöllum) | Austurland | east-iceland | None published | Not stated | — |
| Kleifar (listed as Kleifarmörk) | Suðurland | south-coast | 1.júní til 31.ágúst | Open | — |
| Laugarvatn | Suðurland | west-iceland | Open from 20. May until 1. October | Open | — |
| Airport camping - Sandgerði (listed as Airport camping – Sandgerði) | Suðurland | reykjanes | Open all year | Open | 2,200 |
| Skjól | Suðurland | highlands | None published | Not stated | — |
| Stokkseyri | Suðurland | south-coast | 1.May-30.September | Open | — |
| Tjaldsvæðið við Faxa (listed as Við Faxa) | Suðurland | highlands | Due to a change of ownership, information for 2026 are not available at this time. Prices and further information will be published as soon as they become available. | Not stated | — |
| Þorlákshöfn | Suðurland | south-coast | 15. maí – 15. september | Open | — |
The participating list is Útilegukortið’s own, read on 2026-07-28. It is a snapshot with a date on it, not a live feed: the operator warns on its order page that the roster can still change into May, so check the source before you buy. Seasons and rates in the last three columns come from the campsites themselves via tjalda.is — 24 of the 30 publish a season, and a dash under ISK means nothing is published, not that the site is free.
A few names differ between the two sources and both are shown, because they are the same ground under two labels — the card calls Kirkjubæjarklaustur’s site “Kleifarmörk” where tjalda calls it Kleifar. One match is worth naming because it is the kind that goes wrong: the card’s Grettislaug á Reykhólum is the campsite at Reykhólar on Breiðafjörður, not the Grettislaug at Reykir in Skagafjörður 200 km away, which is a different place with a similar name and its own page.
Where the card sites are
The participating campsites plotted with every other site in the country — the gaps around Reykjavík and the interior are the point.
What the campsites themselves say about the card
Almost nothing. Of the 170 campsites in our data carrying a cited tjalda.is fact bundle, exactly six mention the Camping Card in their own text:
- vid-faxa — accepts. “Camping card applies for this campsite.”
- bolungarvik — accepts. “The Icelandic Camping Card is accepted.”
- hladir — accepts. “Accepted; pay at the swimming pool reception.”
- studlagil — accepts. “Sells and accepts the card.”
- sandgerdi — accepts. “Accepted for a 100 ISK fee, except during the town festival.”
- borgarnes — does NOT accept. “States the card is NOT accepted.”
Five accept and Borgarnes states in as many words that it does not — and Borgarnes is indeed absent from the operator’s roster, which is a small but useful check that the two sources agree. Six mentions out of 315campsites is why this page is built on the card operator’s list: a page assembled from what campsites say about the card themselves would list five sites and call it the answer.
What we did not use
Our campsite records carry a bookableWithParkaflag, true for 41 sites. It is tempting and it is wrong: parka.is is the booking platform several Icelandic campsites use for reservations, a different product from Útilegukortið. It is not used anywhere on this page, and any list of “41 camping card sites” you see has probably made that exact substitution.





